Il Buco

038

Il Buco is a local restaurant that we have been to a few times to enjoy some good down to earth Italian food and tonight was no exception. Having a rare ‘child free’ evening, we dropped in on the off chance we could get a table. The restaurant was full, but the staff found us a table, which we happily took. Our waiter was very friendly, offered us menus and took our drink orders while we looked over the menu. Along with our drinks, we were given a bowl of warm homemade potato chips, a very nice way for us to take our time, chat and make some important decisions on what we would order for our meal ahead.

001

warm homemade chips

Decisions made…for entree we chose the Fiori Di Zucchine – fried zucchini flowers stuffed with prawns and ricotta and served with capsicum puree. This entree was divine. I have ordered it before and couldn’t go past choosing it again this time;

blur

Fiori Di Zucchine

and the Funghi Di Bosco – stuffed mushroom with fresh bread crumbs, herbs, tomato and parmesan and drizzled with pesto…truly delightful.

blur 3

Funghi Di Bosco

For mains I chose a small serving of Pappardelle Ragu D Angnello –  pasta with slow cooked lamb shanks in napoli sauce;  and my husband chose Vitello Saltimbocca – veal with prosciutto, fresh sage, mozzarella and napoli sauce, which was accompanied with  side vegetables.

blur 4

Pappardelle Ragu D Agnello

blur 5

Vitello Saltimbocca

Despite my saying I wasn’t very hungry, seeing one of my favourite deserts on the menu, I couldn’t resist. I ordered the chocolate fondant, which was something that I have had many times at other restaurants, and, although it tasted nice, was a let down as the centre was solid and lacking the soft chocolate that is meant to ooze out as you put your spoon in. As well, the presentation could have been a little better. My husband went with the affogato with frangelico, a compromise between desert and coffee, and one which he enjoyed.

028

Chocolate fondant

031 

Affogato with frangelico

Overall the meal was beautiful, the staff were very pleasant and service was great.  I suggest be prepared for generous servings and home style Italian food. Unfortunately,  my desert, although tasty, did not meet the same high standards of the meal.

Il Buco

142A Liverpool Rd

Enfield

Website: http://www.ilbuco.com.au/

Il Buco on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment